Om Namo Venkatesaya

Trump signs revised travel ban, exempts Iraq

US President Donald Trump has issued a new executive order, temporarily blocking travel to the US for residents of six Muslim-majority countries pending revision of visa procedures. They are Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen. However, he excluded Iraq from the list. The previous travel ban, issued in January, was blocked in federal courts. The Trump administration has put a cap on accepting refugees 50,000 a year from 1,10,000. Trump made a compromise by excluding Iraq to give support to Iraqi forces fighting against the ISIS.