Om Namo Venkatesaya

KCR Bows Down, New Count Is 30?

In what can be termed as shutting down of agitation for new districts in Telangana, the state Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao responded positively to create three more districts, from the already planned 17, which would take total number to 30. During a meet with cabinet members and party legislators, CM KCR seems to have reacted in favor of 3 new districts where the government faced severe protests from opposition parties - Gadwal (Mahabubnagar), Sirisilla (Karimnagar) and Jangoan (Warangal).

The continuous agitations by Congress party members, DK Aruna in Gadwal (Mahabubnagar), K Mrutyunjayam in Sirisilla (Karimnagar) and Ponnala Lakshmaiah in Jangoan (Warangal) doesn't seem to have gone unnoticed. Also, members of Telangana Joint Action Committee staged protests in support of formation of new districts. Earlier last week, Congress party MLA of Gadwal, DK Aruna submitted resignation as part of her protest for new district.

'Let's not disappoint people demanding for new districts and we shall agree on their demand,' is how KCR seems to have sounded at the meeting. The TRS government had already declared 17 new districts to the existing 10 which would come into effect from 11th October to coincide with Dussehra. Given this promise by KCR, it remains to be seen whether the 3 districts will come into effect from Dussehra or will they find a new date.

On the other day, KCR directed officials to re-moniker Shamshabad district as Ranga Reddy and adjusted few mandals of Ranga Reddy into Mahabubnagar. However, Congress and TDP still allege that redrawing Telangana's district boundaries is KCR's strategy to fix his political opponents.